small successes

Today after school a student came to find me to ask me for help. Here’s what’s interesting; he’s not one of my students, and he didn’t want help with my subject. He’s met me at tutoring a couple of times where I helped him with history. Today he got particularly stuck trying to paraphrase a quote for English class he came looking for me.

We talked through it (“The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy” is a lovely phrase, but REALLY HARD if English isn’t your first language) and he left with half his homework done.

I don’t know. It made me feel really good, so I thought I’d share.

One Response to small successes

  1. Kim says:

    That’s what I call a “Rainy Day Diamond”! Those are the moments you have to tuck away for the days when you feel your passion waning and your heart is sore from the struggles you face every day! Great job! You have obviously made an impression on that young man!

Leave a Reply

