boiling point

I teach a class once a week that I don’t give grades to. We just review for the Regents. They are unmotivated to do any work, and I don’t really blame them. It’s a little bit of a disaster. It doesn’t excuse straight-up fucking rudeness, though. Today they talked over me for twenty minutes, while I used all my good-teacher techniques and felt increasingly frustrated and helpless. I don’t yell, usually, and I don’t call students out individually, and I don’t like punishing.

And then I realized I hadn’t felt this shitty and out of control with a class since I was a student teacher, four years ago, and just started yelling. I yelled and I glared and I shouted them down and told them exactly what they were going to write down and how they were going to do it and if they didn’t like it they could go to the AP’s office and I woudn’t miss them a bit. Then I yelled about how the Regents are only a month away and that they were in the class because they hadn’t passed yet; if they wanted to roll their eyes at me and never think about global history again, all they had to do was PASS this time, and I was trying to give them the tools to do that.

Then I said something about how it was impossible to teach if I wanted them to succeed more than they did. Then I yelled a little more.

Okay, it wasn’t my finest moment. But every kid in the room got out a notebook and started writing down notes. And they shut up, and they started asking for help. I wouldn’t say it was a model lesson, by any means; it was about the opposite of that. But I didn’t leave crying or angry. Sometimes that’s a win.

4 Responses to boiling point

  1. eager says:

    Dear teacher, i dont care about your yelled and shouted, please be my teacher. Do visit my cyber room and correct my English.

  2. Julie says:

    hey, whatever it takes! Glad they got to work!

  3. miss brave says:

    I am a first year teacher, and one day in one of my most challenging classes I realized I had reached the point where I didn’t want to break down and cry like I usually do; instead I was just PISSED OFF. And weirdly enough, it felt kind of good!

  4. Amanda says:

    I’m tutoring a student this summer who failed his math A regents. His mother contacted me but the student seems to be there just because he has to be, He never does the homework I give him or looks at the review sheet I make for him, Sometimes he doesn’t even show up for tutoring. I’m just a high school senior saving up for a prom dress but my morals tell me not to continue tutoring him because it’s a waste of his mother’s money. I tried guilting him into doing his work by emphasizing how hard his mother works to raise him and the money she spends to get tutoring for him. It has no affect. I told my parents about it and they just asked me why I cared so much about whether or not he succeeds. They said I should just do my job and get my money and it would be his problem whether or not he passes. I guess the reason why I care so much is because I thought I could make a difference to someone who might not have had the educational advantages as I have had. I always thought I might begin teaching toward the end of my career, when I reach retirement or something. This experience has really discouraged me. It’s frustrating and sad that education is such an ignored value in American society,

Leave a comment